Ann Eisenberg biography

Dr. Ann Eisenberg currently serves as Director of the Office of Scholar Development and Professor of Psychology at the University of Texas at San Antonio (UTSA). She received her Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees in psychology from The Johns Hopkins University and her Ph.D. in developmental psychology from the University of California at Berkeley. In 1990, three years after UTSA created an Honors Program, Dr. Eisenberg became the program’s Director. In 2002, she became Associate Dean of the newly formed Honors College, and she served as Interim Dean of the College in 2015-16. Over those 26 years, the UTSA Honors College grew from a program with 22 students, one half-time secretary, four courses, and $1000 in scholarships per year to a program with 850 students, eight full-time staff members, three Honors faculty members, four different tracks leading to an Honors degree, its own graduation ceremony, 35+ courses per semester, annual study abroad programs, and almost $400,000 per year in scholarships.

Dr. Eisenberg is well known at UTSA for her commitment to students and their personal, intellectual, and professional development. Over the past 20 years, Dr. Eisenberg has brought in over $2 million in government grants to establish undergraduate research programs on campus, and her efforts in teaching and mentoring have been recognized with the President’s Distinguished Award for University Service in 1997 and 2009, the Richard S. Howe Award for Excellence in Service to Undergraduates Award in 2010, and the University Life Award for the Most Outstanding Advisor in 2012 and the Most Outstanding Faculty Member in 1993 and 2012. Dr. Eisenberg also received the President’s Distinguished Diversity Award in 2014, and she has received the UTSA Ambassadors’ Amber Award for Outstanding Mentoring every year since 1999.