Max Minzer, Presidential Teaching Fellow
The University of New Mexico's annual teaching awards ceremony will be held Thursday, May 2, from 2 - 4 p.m. in SUB Ballroom C. A reception, hosted by the Office of Support for Effective Teaching, will follow the ceremony. The campus community is invited to attend.

The following award recipients, announced by the Faculty Senate Teaching Enhancement Committee, will be recognized by Provost Chaouki Abdallah and other campus leaders at the ceremony.

Presidential Teaching Fellow
Max Minzner, School of Law

Outstanding Teachers of the Year
Sergio Pareja, School of Law; Maria Cristina Pereyra, Mathematics & Statistics; and Kenneth Richard Roberts, UNM Gallup Branch

Outstanding Lecturer or Affiliated Faculty of the Year
Robert Grassberger, Jr., Organizational Learning & Instructional Technology; Sushilla Knottenbelt, Chemistry; and Jessica Rowland, Sustainability Studies Program

Outstanding New Teacher of the Year
John Carr, Geography & Kathy L. Powers, Political Science

Outstanding Online Teacher of the Year
Debby Casson, Mathematics & Statistics

Susan Deese-Roberts Outstanding Teaching Assistants of the Year
Daniel Cryer, English; Clare Daniel, American Studies; Gbenga Frederick Olorunsiwa, American Studies; Alexis Pulos, Communication & Journalism; and Fares Qeadan, Mathematics & Statistics

Media contact: Steve Carr (505) 277-1821; email: