The “Roaring Louies” captured the imagination of audience members as the 2017 Division of Student Affairs Fellows took the Louie Awards back in time. The reason for the trip was to honor outstanding employees in the Division by presenting them with coveted little gold statues of UNM's mascot.

The winners of the Louies have one thing in common—they make a difference in the lives of students everyday by carrying out the Division’s mission to inspire learning and academic success. 

And the awards went to:

Outstanding Service Providers: 
Brian Malone, Student Financial Aid;
and Jacqueline Paul, Pablo Torres and Danielle Gilliam from the Global Education Office with Aaron Hilf, University Communication and Marketing

Fellow of the Year:
Lisa Lindquist, Dean of Students

Student Employee of the Year:
Aaron Ochoa, Casas del Rio

Student Affairs Employee of the Year:
Leonel Diaz, Dean of Students

Consul Efren Nicolas Leyva Acevedo, Mexican Consulate in Albuquerque, was presented with the Honorary Community Award, for contributions in support of the The IME Becas (Instituto de los Mexicanos en el Exterior) Becas scholarship program from the Mexican government

Employees are nominated by members across the UNM community. Winners are chosen by a committee comprised of a diverse group of people from various UNM departments. 

For more information on the awards and the OSA Fellowship, visit the Student Affairs website