The Office of the President and Staff Council recently announced the recipients of the 2020 Gerald W. May Outstanding Staff Award.

"Staff is critical to the success of our University, and the recipients of this award are notable because they all lead by their example,” said Gerald W. May, the UNM president who initiated the award in 1990.

To be selected for this award is an honor and an achievement. Each of the following recipients have made an immeasurable impact on the institution and are to be commended.

2020 Gerald W. May Outstanding Staff Award Ceremony

Thursday, December 10

2 p.m. on Zoom

Click here for the Zoom link

Click here to view the 2020 Program

Oceana Black Elk
Admin Assistant 3 | Arts Sciences Advisement

Corine Gonzales
Strategic Project Director | Enrollment Management

Gary Harrison
Facilities Operations Manager | Physics & Astronomy Department

Antoinette Rael
Department Administrator | Chicana Chicano Studies

Mitzi Vigil
Operations Specialist | School of Law

Read more about the awards and help celebrate and congratulate as five more names are added to the perpetual plaque that hangs in Scholes Hall.

Every year, Staff Council facilitates this prestigious, presidential award which recognizes outstanding staff members who have made significant contributions to the University. At least three staff members are chosen as recipients who receive a plaque and monetary award. The Staff Council Rewards and Recognition Committee conducts the screening process and makes recommendations, with the approval of the Staff Council Executive Committee, to the President of the University.