The Jeff Harnar Awards for Architecture are now accepting submissions for the 2024 awards cycle. The Jeff Harnar Awards program was created by Garrett Thornburg in 2007 to honor the memory of architect Jeff Harnar, known for his groundbreaking design in contemporary architecture in New Mexico. The deadline to apply is Monday, March 11, 2024. For 2024 the program includes the following six categories: 

  • Contemporary Architecture in the Southwest 
  • Unbuilt Architecture  
  • Unbuilt Landscape Architecture  
  • Social Justice in Architecture (Open category – Jury's selection from all submissions) 
  • Student Architecture  
  • Student Landscape Architecture 

The Jeff Harnar Awards are made possible by the Thornburg Foundation, who has sponsored this program for the past 17 years. The University of New Mexico’s School of Architecture + Planning organizes the competition and determines both the award process and selection of the jury.  

The award presentation and celebration will be held on Friday, April 12, 2024 at 5:30 p.m. at the School of Architecture + Planning’s Garcia Honda Auditorium, located in George Pearl Hall at UNM. The award jury includes Jeff Day (University of Nebraska-Lincoln), Gabriel Diaz Montemayor (University of Arkansas), Ben Gilmartin (Diller Scofidio + Renfro), Claudia Meyer Horn (Design Office), Erin Moore (University of Oregon), and Anya Sirota (University of Michigan). Best of Show submissions will be featured in a digital exhibition following the presentation. 

For application details and to submit an entry, please visit and see the "Preview Full Application” link at the bottom of the page. 

For additional information, please visit: To see an archive of past winners, please visit: If you have additional questions, please contact Anthony Fettes at