The Jeff Harnar Award for Contemporary Architecture is now accepting submissions for the annual award. Completed entries for the award must be received no later than Thursday, Feb. 11 at 4:30 p.m. The winner will be announced on Friday, March 4. This prestigious prize iwas created in honor of the late Jeff Harnar, well known for his groundbreaking design in contemporary architecture in Santa Fe.

The 2016 winner of the Jeff Harnar Award receives a $10,000 cash prize.

For the sixth consecutive year the Thornburg Foundation, sponsor for the Harnar prize and program, is collaborating with the University of New Mexico School of Architecture and Planning in all aspects of the competition process and selection of the award recipient.

“The award was created in Jeff’s honor to encourage creativity and excellence in contemporary architectural design," said Garrett Thornburg, president of the Thornburg Foundation. "It has been our hope from the outset of this competition to highlight contemporary architecture in New Mexico - to show how innovative, sustainable design and modern materials can be crafted into excellent architecture that can comfortably and respectfully sit side by side with our rich architectural heritage. We want to promote contemporary architecture and sustainable design of new architectural forms which celebrate and integrate with the unique landscape of New Mexico.”

Geraldine Forbes Isais, dean of the UNM School of Architecture and Planning, is delighted to again work with the Thornburg Foundation in presenting this highly respected and prominent award. "This collaboration with the Thornburg Foundation benefits the students and faculty of the School of Architecture and Planning, as well as those community members who recognize the challenge and value of contemporary architecture. The Jeff Harnar Award program implicitly asks the architectural community to challenge all New Mexicans to examine the urban and rural conditions of the state and advance an architecture that is exciting - sometimes respectful and sometimes provocative - but always uniquely New Mexican.”

Submissions for the Jeff Harnar Award must be from an architect or architectural firm for a singular work of architecture built in New Mexico and completed since January 1, 2011. There is no limit to the number of entries per firm or architect. The work must be a permanent structure, rather than temporary or moveable construction, and should draw inspiration from the regional context; demonstrating creative sensitivity to climate, site, geology, vegetation and the unique quality of light. Architectural solutions are also expected to demonstrate appropriate and artistic responses to the challenges of the user needs and budget, as well as innovative utilization of available materials and technology, while carefully adhering to established principles and best practices in seeking sustainability.

A panel consisting of distinguished architects and educators – including a member of the faculty of the UNM School of Architecture and Planning as well as a graduate student from the UNM architecture program – will select the Jeff Harnar Award recipient.

The awards presentation and celebration will be held at the auditorium and gallery, George Pearl Hall, UNM campus, on Friday, March 4.

Details for the submission requirements may be viewed at Professors John Quale, director of the architecture program and Roger Schluntz, former dean of UNM School of Architecture and Planning, serve as coordinators for the program.