Academic advisors are critical to student success at The University of New Mexico making it important to recognize their excellence. This year, the Provost Committee for Advising announced four recipients for the Excellence in Advising Award.

The awardees are as follows:

  • Leslie Armell - College Enrichment Program
  • Diana Martinez-Campos - College Assistance Migrant Program
  • Krista Navarrette - School of Engineering
  • Grace Willerton - UNM Los Alamos

The recipients were honored recently at the Provost’s Staff Awards Reception. A plaque and a monetary award was presented to each individual at the ceremony. Nominations were submitted by students, faculty and staff. The recipients were chosen by a diverse group of people.

The following are past recipients of the Provost’s Committee for Advising awards:

Meghan Lippert – Excellence in Advising
Sarah E. Dominguez – Outstanding New Advisor

JJ Conn – Excellence in Advising
Farah Nousheen - Outstanding New Advisor

Kelley Parker – Excellence in Advising
Yvone’ Nelson – Outstanding New Advisor

Lourdes Garcia-O’Keefe – Excellence in Advising
Frank Chaco Borja II – Outstanding New Advisor

Nicole Bingham – Outstanding New Advisor
Sarah Nezzer – Advising Innovation
Elizabeth “Beth” Rowe – Excellence in Advising (staff)
Dr. Tariq Khraishi – Excellence in Advising (faculty)