The Office of the President and the UNM Staff Council has announced the 2014 recipients for the 24th annual Gerald W. May Outstanding Staff Award. They are: Amy Hawkins, Educational Opportunity Center (EOC) for the College Enrichment and Outreach Program (CEOP); Rosemary Melendrez, UNM Police Department; Daniel Mulligan, New Mexico Transport Program and David Phillips, Maxwell Museum.

Each recipient will be honored in a ceremony Thursday, Dec. 11 from 3 to 4:30 p.m. in Ballroom C at the Student Union Building where they will receive a check and a plaque. Additionally, the UNM Staff Council extends a personal invitation to previous recipients of the award to be special guests at the event honoring this year’s recipients.

To be selected for the Gerald W. May Outstanding Staff Award is truly an honor and big achievement bestowed upon staff. When former UNM president created the award he stated "Staff are critical to the success of our University, and the recipients of this award are notable because they all lead by their example."

UNM established an endowment through funds earmarked by past President Gerald W. May for staff recognition. At the end of his tenure, the Regent’s Endowment Fund contributed a matching amount in recognition of his service and assistance in creating a UNM Staff Council. Income from the endowment is used by the Office of the President to recognize outstanding staff who have made significant contributions to the university.