The Jeff Harnar Award for Contemporary Architecture is now accepting submissions for the annual award that will be announced Friday, Feb. 28. This prestigious prize is made in honor of the late Jeff Harnar, well known for his groundbreaking design in contemporary architecture in Santa Fe. 

The 2014 winner of the Jeff Harnar Award will receive a $10,000 cash prize. 

For the fourth year, the Thornburg Foundation, sponsor for the Harnar prize and program, is collaborating with the University of New Mexico School of Architecture and Planning in all aspects of the competition process and selection of the award recipient. 

“We created the award in Jeff’s honor to encourage creativity and excellence in contemporary architectural design,” said Garrett Thornburg, who initiated this annual award and competition. “It has been our hope from the outset of this competition to highlight contemporary architecture from New Mexico, to show how innovative design and modern materials can be crafted into excellent architecture that can comfortably and respectfully sit side-by-side with our rich architectural heritage and create cultural diversity similar to the diversity of the state’s demography. We want to promote contemporary architecture and the design of new architectural forms which celebrate and integrate with the architectural uniqueness and the rich cultural heritage of New Mexico.”

Geraldine Forbes Isais, dean of the School of Architecture and Planning, commented that the UNM School of Architecture and Planning, said, “This collaboration will mutually benefit the students and faculty of the School of Architecture and Planning as well as the objective of the Thornburg Foundation.”

"This is a unique opportunity for the academic and architectural communities to engage in meaningful discussions that address the question of excellence in contemporary architecture,” Forbes added.

Submissions for the Jeff Harnar Award must be from an architect or architectural firm for a singular work of architecture built in New Mexico and completed since January 1, 2008. There is no limit to the number of entries per firm or architect. 

The work must be a permanent structure, rather than temporary or moveable construction, and should draw inspiration from the regional context; demonstrating creative sensitivity to climate, site, geology, vegetation and the unique quality of light. Architectural solutions are also expected to demonstrate appropriate and artistic responses to the challenges of the user needs and budget, as well as innovative utilization of available materials and technology, while carefully adhering to established principles and best practices in seeking sustainability.

Completed entries for the 2014 Jeff Harnar Award for Contemporary Architecture must be received no later than Wednesday, Feb. 19 at 4:30 p.m. 

A panel consisting of distinguished architects and educators – including a member of the faculty of the UNM School of Architecture and Planning as well as a graduate student from the UNM architecture program – will select the Jeff Harnar Award recipient.

The awards presentation and celebration is set at the auditorium and gallery in George Pearl Hall on the campus of the University of New Mexico Friday, Feb. 28, time TBD.  Pearl Hall, designed by New Mexico’s world renowned architect, Antoine Predock, FAIA, was previously honored with the Harnar Award Harnar Award

Details for the submission requirements may be viewed at Harnar. Professor Roger Schluntz, FAIA, former dean of UNM School of Architecture and Planning, is serving as the coordinator for the program and may be contacted at .