The Office of the University Secretary, on behalf of the Honorary Degree Committee, seeks nominations for honorary degrees for “individuals who have contributed significantly to the cultural or scientific development of the Southwest or the spiritual or material welfare of its people.”

Honorary Degrees are awarded at spring commencement and are awarded only upon the approval of the Regents, based on recommendations from the Honorary Degree Committee. The Honorary Degree Committee is a subcommittee of the Faculty Senate Graduate & Professional Committee.

Nominees must have an exemplary record of academic or public accomplishment in keeping with the University’s standards for rigor, quality and significance.

Nominators are asked to submit a letter stating in sufficient detail reasons for the nomination. Nominations should include biographical information, a record of accomplishment and supporting letters. Because the Honorary Degree Committee must choose among illustrious nominees, please provide as complete a nomination as possible.

All nominations should be sent to:
Office of the Secretary
Scholes Hall Room 103, MSC05 3340 or email
Deadline to submit is Dec. 17 at 5 p.m.

For more information and a list of past recipients, visit Honorary Degrees.