University of New Mexico Regents President Jack Fortner, who is chairing the search for the next president of the university, has named the search committee. That committee will be tasked with recommending five individuals to the Board of Regents - individuals who, in the committee's judgment, are well qualified to lead the university as its next president.

UNM regents Don Chalmers and Jamie Koch have previously been named to the search committee. They will be joined by members of the UNM faculty, staff and students as well as alumni and community members from around New Mexico.

Deans James Linnell, College of Fine Arts, and Nancy Ridenour, College of Nursing, are joined on the committee by faculty members Jane Slaughter, History and committee vice chair; Barbara McCrady, Psychology; Tim Ross, Engineering and Faculty Senate President; Antoinette Sedillo Lopez, Law; David Gonzales, Internal Medicine; Tim Castillo, Architecture and Planning; and Cedric Page, UNM-Los Alamos.

Representing staff on the committee are Paul Krebs, Athletics; Andrew Cullen, Planning, Budget and Analysis; Pam Agoyo, American Indian Student Services; Scott Carreathers, African American Student Services; and Mary Clark, Staff Council. GPSA president Katie Richardson will represent graduate students, while ASUNM president Jaymie Roybal will represent undergraduate students.

Community members include Sandra Begay-Campbell, former UNM regent, alumna and Foundation Board member; Mary Torres, Albuquerque attorney; Randy Briggs, WNMU regent president; Gig Brummell, alumnus and Sandia Foundation vice chair; Sherman McCorkle, Sandia Science and Technology Park board chair; Robert Rosebrough, alumnus and former Gallup mayor; David Seely, Kirtland Federal Credit Union president; and Pat Rogers, alumnus and Albuquerque attorney.

The presidential search committee will hold its organizational meeting in late August.

Media contact: Susan McKinsey (505) 277-1807; e-mail: