The University of New Mexico School of Engineering recently recognized the accomplishments of seven of its alumni during its Distinguished Alumni Award event at the Embassy Suites in Albuquerque.

The 2016 honorees are:
Roger J. Koerner, of Montgomery, Texas, received a bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering from UNM in 1998. He retired from a 40-year career with ExxonMobil in 2008, working in locations around the world, from Texas to Malaysia.

Rick L. Marquardt, of Albuquerque, is chairman and CEO of Jaynes Corp. He earned his bachelor’s degree in civil engineering from UNM in 1984 and an EMBA from UNM in 1991.

Michael A. Rodriguez, of Palatine, Ill., earned his Ph.D. in electrical engineering from UNM in 1980. He also earned a bachelor’s degree from Massachusetts Institute of Technology and a master’s degree from the University of Illinois, both in electrical engineering He is retired from a 25-year career as a color scientist with RR Donnelley in Chicago.

Rick Russell, of Fort Worth, Texas, received a bachelor’s degree in computer science from UNM in 1987. He is North American technical executive for analytics in the public market at IBM, where he has spend most of his career. In his current position, he works with education, health care and the life sciences.

Jennifer L. Troup, of Albuquerque, received her bachelor’s, master’s, and Ph.D. degrees in nuclear engineering from UNM in 1992, 1994, and 2000, respectively. She is a manager at Sandia National Laboratories Discrete Math and Optimization area.

Douglas M. Smith, of Albuquerque, received a Ph.D. in chemical engineering from UNM in 1982. He is president and founder of NanoPore Inc. and formed several other spinoff companies. He was also was one of the founders of Cool Logistics Ltd.

Jason W. Harrington, of Albuquerque, received the Young Alumni Award. Harrington received a bachelor’s degree in construction management from UNM in 1998. He is president and CEO of HB Construction.