Two University of New Mexico School of Engineering professors, Stephanie Forrest and Marek Osinski, have been named Fellows in the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).

Forrest, a Distinguished Professor of Computer Science, was selected for her contributions to computer security systems based on biological principles, while Osinski, a professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, was selected for his contributions to analysis of optoelectronic materials and devices.

The designation, recognized by the technical community as a prestigious honor and an important career accomplishment, is bestowed upon individuals with an outstanding record of accomplishment. The organization's website says it is the largest professional association dedicated to advancing technological innovation and excellence for the benefit of humanity.