The University of New Mexico’s Mortar Board Senior Honor Society has announced its new members in a unique way.

Amid UNM’s limited operations in response to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Maia Chapter was forced to get creative.

“Every year we host our ‘tapping’ ceremony in Hodgin Hall,” said Rudy William Louis Montoya, student activities specialist. “It’s a standing tradition of tapping students and announcing their membership in a public space like a classroom or an open meeting.”

Instead, current members created a congratulatory JijJab and pushed out a tapping ceremony video.

“While we will likely be doing online elections, we will formally initiate the new group in the fall semester and continue a tradition of excellence on campus,” Montoya said. “We want to continue to publicly congratulate and celebrate the following students as they proceed to accept membership.”

  • Abigale Aldrich
  • Mia Amin
  • Hayley Babbitt
  • Ryan Cook
  • Edgar Corona Castaneda
  • Madeline D'Arezzo
  • Samantha DeWees
  • Ethan Duff
  • Georgia Dukes
  • Paulina Duran
  • Lauryn Gallimore
  • Ysenia Gonzalez
  • Emerald Goranson
  • Andrea Gustke
  • Livia Hensley
  • Ana Milan Hinostroza
  • Luisa Hurtado Iglesias
  • Savannah Ibarra
  • Claire Karo
  • Abigail Lutz
  • Maggie Maestas
  • Lauren Martinez
  • Zachary Mason
  • Kaylee Maxon
  • Emma McGhee
  • Lynn Midani
  • Timothy Mondloch
  • Allison Murphy
  • Erik Neal
  • Destinie Otero
  • Savannah Payton
  • Amanda Perea
  • Corvid Platero
  • Reshma Rajan
  • Roshna Rajan
  • Jenna Lee Ramsay
  • Ryan Regalado
  • Aaron Sellers
  • Jacob Silva
  • Meiling Traeger
  • Megan Wilkie
  • Stacey Wommack

Mortar Board is a national honor society recognizing college seniors for their exemplary scholarship, leadership and service. The chapter was founded on campus in 1936. It founded and continues to organize the Hanging of the Greens, one of UNM's oldest student-run traditions.