Five UNM Press titles won seven awards at the 2015 New Mexico-Arizona Book Awards this month. Winners were announced at the New Mexico-Arizona Book Awards annual banquet held Friday, Nov. 20, at the Tanoan Country Club in Albuquerque. The awards are managed by the New Mexico Book Co-op and are judged by a group of librarians, teachers, booksellers, and book marketing experts.

The awards honor the best books from authors and publishers from the southwest as well as books about New Mexico or Arizona.

UNM Press award winners:

  • Laguna Pueblo: A Photographic History, by Lee Marmon and Tom Corbett, won for Arts Book and Best Book 2015
  • The Memory of Stone: Meditations on the Canyons of the West, by Erv Schroeder, won for Arts Book
  • Hoe, Heaven, and Hell: My Boyhood in Rural New Mexico, by Nasario García, won for Biography—New Mexico subject and Best Book on New Mexico
  • Goin' Crazy with Sam Peckinpah and All Our Friends, by Max Evans, as told to Robert Nott, won for Biography—Other
  • Enduring Acequias: Wisdom of the Land, Knowledge of the Water, by Juan Estevan Arellano, won for Nature/Environment Book

In addition, two books distributed by UNM Press were honored with awards:

  • Living the Ancient Southwest (SAR Press), edited by David Grant Noble, won for Anthropology/Archaeology
  • The Daily Practice of Compassion: A History of the University of New Mexico School of Medicine, Its People, and Its Mission, 1964–2014 (UNM School of Medicine), by Dora L. Wang, with Shannan L. Carter, won for Health Book

To view the complete list of winners, visit