New board officers and committee chairs were elected as part of the full Board of Regents meeting on March 11.

The new roles for the UNM Regents are as follows:

Doug Brown

  • board president
  • Audit and Compliance Committee, chair

Kim Sanchez Rael

  • board vice president
  • Academic/Student Affairs and Research Committee, co-chair

Sandra Begay

  • board secretary & treasurer
  • Finance and Facilities Committee, chair

Robert M. Doughty III

  • Alumni Association Board of Directors
  • Audit and Compliance Committee

Melissa C. Henry, Student Regent

  • Academic/Student Affairs and Research Committee, co-chair

Marron Lee

  • Honorary Degree Committee
  • Audit and Compliance Committee

Robert Schwartz

  • Health Sciences Center Committee, Chair

Five new Regents were recently nominated by Gov. Michelle Lujan Grisham and confirmed by the State Senate. Sanchez Rael and Schwartz were nominated to six-year terms, while Begay and Brown were nominated to four-year terms. Henry was appointed for two years. 

Regents Doughty and Lee are serving terms through 2020.