The University of New Mexico has renewed its membership with the New Mexico Council of University Presidents (CUP) for the remainder of the current fiscal year. UNM acting President Chaouki Abdallah will join presidents from six other state public universities as a member of the Council.

The decision follows recent discussions between Abdallah and CUP Chair Garrey Carruthers, Chancellor, New Mexico State University.

“Our state universities are facing similar challenges in dealing with budget issues, lottery scholarship solvency, enrollment concerns and other higher education issues, so we believe having the collaboration and support of this collective group is a wise investment,” Abdallah said. “Chairman Carruthers and I agree on the important role that UNM plays in addressing these challenges as an integral part of the Council.”

CUP represents its university members in shared goals and visions for student success, economic development, research and public service. The Council’s mission states it “recognizes that the well-being of the institutions, their faculty, staff and students and the broader public of New Mexico are one and the same.”

UNM will pay membership dues of $35,000 for the remainder of FY17, but will not be required to provide additional in-kind services that created additional costs in the past. CUP has also agreed to rotate the chairmanship among its seven members every two years, beginning with the next fiscal year (FY 18).

“I look forward to working with the other presidents in sharing ideas and strengthening our efforts to bring the best in higher education opportunities for New Mexicans,” Abdallah said.