The University of New Mexico School of Architecture + Planning, in partnership with the Thornburg Foundation, announces its annual Jeff Harnar Awards Friday, April 14 at 5:30 p.m. in the Garcia Honda Auditorium located in George Pearl Hall. The event will also be virtually accessible on Zoom. The meeting ID is 974 2385 6140.

Best of Show submissions will be selected for a digital exhibition following the awards ceremony. The awards announcement will be preceded by a lecture presented by Ted Flato of Lake Flato Architects.

Since founding Lake Flato with David Lake in 1984, Flato has received a reputation for his straightforward regional designs that leverage each unique site and connect people to the natural environment. By employing sustainable strategies in a wide variety of building types and scales, Flato seeks to conserve energy and natural resources while creating healthy built environments.

His recent focus has been on residential, higher education and eco-conservation projects, including the AIA Committee on the Environment (COTE) Top Ten Award-winning ASU Polytechnic Academic Campus in Mesa, Ariz.; the new Midtown Arts & Theater Center (MATCH) in Houston, Texas; and the Naples Botanical Garden Visitor Center in Florida.

Jury Roundtable Invite

Prior to Friday’s event, a Panel Discussion featuring the Jeff Harnar Award Jury Roundtable will be held Thursday, April 13 from 5:30-7:30 p.m. at the New Mexico School for the Arts located at 500 Montezuma Ave. (brick building entrance) in Santa Fe. The event is also available via Zoom at

Panelists include Ted Flato, Aleksandra Jaeschke, Reed Kroloff, Jennifer Siegal, Carlos Jimenez, Gabriel Diaz Montemayor, Rene Davids, Mary Hardin and Frederick Steiner.

The jurors will discuss the competition review process, in addition to discussing recurring themes and ideologies amongst applicants. 

The Jeff Harnar Awards are entering their 16th year. Created in 2007 by Garrett Thornburg, the awards honor the memory of Jeff Harnar and help continue his groundbreaking work in the area of contemporary design in the Southwest. In 2018, the award program was expanded to include Unbuilt Work and Landscape Architecture. In 2020-21, the program was further expanded to include the following six categories:

  • Contemporary Architecture in the Southwest
  • An Outstanding New Mexico Designer
  • Unbuilt Architecture
  • Unbuilt Landscape Architecture
  • Student Architecture Award
  • Student Landscape Architecture Award

Five of the six Jeff Harnar Awards are open to submissions for work designed for the Four Corners states (Ariz., Colo., N.M. and Utah). The Outstanding New Mexico Designer is reserved for firms of architecture and landscape architecture in New Mexico.