The University of New Mexico Staff Council is now accepting nominations for the inaugural Outstanding Supervisor Awards.

The awards are designed to highlight staff and faculty currently functioning in a supervisory role for staff or students for at least one year at the time of nomination. Candidates should demonstrate and support work/life balance, professional development and provide effective leadership to people in their department or program.

The Outstanding Supervisor Awards are meant to be an annual acknowledgment of supervisors who go above and beyond in supporting the overall University core mission and values.

“We’re very happy to be able to recognize, for the first time, supervisors who are doing amazing things all over campus,” said Staff Council President Crystal Davis. “We’re also very appreciative that President Frank, Provost Abdallah, and Chancellor Roth saw the value in this recognition and helped make it possible.”

Earlier this year, the Staff Council, UNM President Robert Frank, Provost Chaouki Abdallah and HSC Chancellor Paul Roth signed a memorandum of understanding setting up the annual award. The Office of the President, Office of Academic Affairs and the Health Sciences Center Office of the Chancellor will jointly fund the accolade.

Those selected for the award will receive a plaque, $1,000 cash award and a letter of appreciation for their personnel file.

Any UNM staff, faculty or student may nominate a supervisor that meets the eligibility requirements and has been employed at UNM for at least two years. 

Criteria for the awards are supervisors who:

  • Demonstrate and support work/life balance, professional development and effective leadership
  • Contribute to and demonstrate a commitment to the university’s core purpose and values
  • Creates a positive and motivating work environment

To nominate a supervisor, click here.

Nominations will be accepted until 5 p.m. on Jan. 22. Winners will be announced at a luncheon in the Student Union Ballroom C on Feb. 10 from 1:30 p.m. to 3 p.m.