The 2023 recipients of the Gerald W. May Outstanding Staff Award at The University of New Mexico were recognized recently in a ceremony held in Ballroom B at the Student Union Building. 

In 1990, UNM President Gerald W. May provided funds to award UNM’s outstanding staff members, who have made significant contributions to the University. The Staff Council uses the funds to recognize staff who have made significant contributions to departments and university-wide goals.

This year’s recipients included:

  • Anthony Gravagne – senior machinist, Department of Physics & Astronomy
    Anthony Gravagne has served as UNM staff working in the machine shop for over 17 years, providing research and technical support for custom design, fabrication, and repair not just for Physics and Astronomy, but many other campus departments. Gravagne earned his bachelor’s degree in journalism from UNM in 2006 and then, while working for UNM, earned his certificate of applied sciences in machine tool technology from CNM in 2009.
  • Brian Kimura – IT officer, College of Fine Arts
    Brian Kimura has more than 20 years of experience in Fine Arts and creative technology service creation and delivery at UNM. He specializes in high-end, multi-user computing systems for gaming, film, and art production and brings this expertise to help UNM set workstation standards for the UNM community by serving as the chair of the IT workstations standards team. Kimura was born and raised in the Albuquerque/Rio Rancho area, a US Air Force Veteran and an alum from the College of Fine Arts, Art Department, at UNM.
  • Nick Royle – manager, Special Activities, Facilities Management
    Nick Royle’s professional journey began in the Army Reserve, where he served as a construction supervisor, contributing significantly to the construction of clinics and schools in Panama and Guatemala. His leadership extended to the frontlines during Operation Enduring Freedom in Afghanistan from 2013 to 2014. His tenure at UNM spans 10 years. In addition to his professional accomplishments, Nick is passionate about gardening, Star Wars, and good food. As a father, Royle takes pride in his two children. This commitment to service and education is a testament to the Royle family's values.
  • Theresa Sherman – consultant, Employee and Organizational Development, Human Resources
    Theresa Sherman has dedicated her 20-year career to advancing higher education in New Mexico at the state and university level. She has run multi-million-dollar federal grant and state-wide outreach campaigns for college awareness and achievement. Recently, Sherman brought her communications talents to UNM’s Employee and Organizational Development department, where she serves as an EOD consultant, sharing her knowledge and experience on project management, time management, communication, and collaboration to the wider University community. Sherman has a bachelor’s degree in public relations, and a master’s in public administration.
  • Deborah Trevino – senior communications and marketing manager, Project ECHO
    After a long career leading global corporate communications strategies and programs for organizations like Starbucks, Microsoft and Getty Images, Deborah Trevino joined Project ECHO in 2021. At Project ECHO, Deb creates content and communications/marketing strategies that highlight ECHO’s accomplishments, leadership and vision to funders, partners, media, and other key audiences. Deb is passionate about Project ECHO and UNM Health Sciences and, as she says, is grateful for the opportunity to share that passion every day.

“Each year, I have the privilege of helping to present this award, one of our most prestigious awards at The University of New Mexico—and, with each passing year, one that has been presented the longest, without a pause or hiatus. Even the pandemic didn’t stop us from acknowledging the achievements of some of our most remarkable staff,” said UNM President Garnett S. Stokes. “I thank all of you here today for your service to the University of New Mexico—and to our awardees, I’m very grateful to be a part of your celebration.

Additional 2023 nominees included:

  • Brian Aragon, Facilities Management, Area 2
  • Sierra Cushing, Emergency Med EMS Academy
  • Frankie Flores, LGBTQ Resource Center
  • Ashley Hatcher, School of Medicine. Office for Community Faculty
  • Dilek Inal, IT EMSS – Systems
  • Lori Chavez-Morris, Psychology
  • Katherine Williams, Employee Organizational Development

Each fall, staff members are nominated by other staff, faculty, and students at the University. The nominees are then reviewed by the Staff Council Rewards and Recognition Committee and the Staff Council Executive Committee. Finally, the president of the University selects the final winners. The winners are given a monetary award and plaque. In addition, their names will be added to the perpetual plaque that hangs in Scholes Hall.

For more information and a list of previous winners, visit Gerald May Outstanding Staff Award.