The UNM Teaching Award Ceremony is scheduled for Wednesday, May 4, in the SUB Ballroom C beginning at 2 p.m., with a reception following. The ceremony and reception are open to the university community.

President David J. Schmidly will present the Presidential Teaching Fellow Award to Economics Professor Christine Sauer. The Presidential Teaching Fellow is the highest recognition for teaching that is awarded by the university. Provost Suzanne Ortega presents the Outstanding Teacher of the Year Awards to Melissa Bokovoy and Les Field. She also presents the Outstanding New Teacher of the Year Awards to Tema Milstein and Melanie Moses.

Director of New Media & Extended Learning, Debby Knotts presents the Outstanding Online Teacher of the Year Award to Robin Meize-Grochowski. Provost Ortega also presents the Outstanding Lecturer or Affiliated Teacher of the Year Awards to Bruce Hofkin, Janet Lear and Myra Luna-Lucero.

Dean of Graduate Studies Amy Wohlert presents the Susan Deese-Roberts Teaching Assistant Awards to Kiley Guyton Acosta, Daniel Abeyta, Jeremy Ricketts, Tessa Margett, and Carolyn Hushman. Hushman is the wife of Glenn Hushman, who was honored with the same award in 2008-09 as a doctoral student at UNM.

Media contact: Carolyn Gonzales, 277-5920; e-mail: