Eight Lobo researchers from disciplines spanning across The University of New Mexico have been selected as recipients of the inaugural OVPR Ovation Award for Research and Scholarship.

The new Ovation awards recognize full-time faculty for recent cutting-edge research accomplishments that address local or global challenges, while elevating the University’s reputation on a national and international stage.

“Our faculty are continuously working to find solutions to some of the greatest challenges we face as New Mexicans, often without much fanfare,” said Ellen Fisher, UNM vice president for research. “The Ovation Awards really highlight the diversity of the University’s research, scholarship, and creativity that strengthens our commitment to improving the lives of New Mexicans and others who live beyond our state.” 

2022 Ovation Award for Research and Scholarship recipients:

Professor Subhankar Banerjee | Art
Assistant Professor Diana Dragomir | Physics & Astronomy
Professor Heather Edgar | Anthropology
Associate Professor Tiffany Florvil | History
Professor Marjori Krebs | Elementary Education
Associate Professor Christina Salas | Chemical and Biological Engineering
Professor Irene Salinas | Biology
Professor Richard White | Music

Each researcher will receive $1,000 distributed into their research account. Recipients will also be honored during Research & Discovery Week, Nov. 5-11.