University of New Mexico President David J. Schmidly recently presented the 2011 Sarah Belle Brown Community Service Awards in a ceremony at University House. This year's recipients include: faculty award winner Dr. Raj Shah, Department of Medicine and Biochemistry; staff award winner Theresa Williams, program coordinator, El Centro De La Raza; and student award winner Christopher Ramirez, graduate student, Community & Regional Planning.

These awards have been generously endowed by Doug and Sarah Brown to recognize the volunteer service work done by members of the UNM community for the good of the greater community. The faculty and staff recipients each receive $2,000, while the student recipient receives a $1,000 scholarship.

Shah has worked with the Zuni community for 13 years in helping with education, intervention and prevention of kidney disease and other contributing chronic diseases.

Williams has volunteered with more than 14 organizations including support of female ex-offenders with mentoring, advocacy and transition referral services, and work with organizations such as the Underage Drinking Prevention Coalition, The Martin Luther King Jr., Youth Against Violence Conference and Parade, and multiple boards and advisory groups.

Ramirez has accomplished a tremendous amount of volunteer service work in the immigrant and LGBTQ communities, as well as commuity organizing around a litany of social justice issues and organizations.

For more information visit, Sarah Belle Brown Awards.