University of New Mexico Provost Chaouki Abdallah announced the launch of the search for a new dean of the College of Education.  Dr. Amy Wohlert, interim director of the UNM’s School of Public Administration, has been appointed chair of the search committee. 

This academic leadership position offers the opportunity to spearhead UNM's project to build a world-class program for training teachers and principals at UNM that rivals the best Colleges of Education anywhere, a program focused on preparing teachers to serve New Mexico’s diverse society and educate the majority-minority society of America's future. 

The new dean will take over an ongoing process of re-visioning the College of Education; engage the College faculty and staff in planning for its implementation; collaborate with wider University colleagues in the joint efforts required to carry it out; and communicate with external constituencies to promote understanding of that effort in New Mexican society. UNM seeks a dynamic emerging educational leader to play the lead role in this broad, multi-year effort. Position will draw on and reward the ability to exert leadership while collaborating with faculty, staff, and university leaders, as well as the ability to work within New Mexico's rich demographic and socio-economic diversity.

The application process has begun and the anticipated start date for the new dean is July 1, 2014.

Individuals appointed to the search committee are:

• Amy Wohert, search chair, interim director, School of Public Administration
• David Atencio, associate professor, ECME, College of Education
• Allison Borden, associate professor, Educational Leadership, College of Education
• Douglas Brown, dean, Anderson School of Management
• Greg Cajete, professor and chair, Native American Studies
• Regina Carlow, associate dean, College of Fine Arts
• Jedidiah Crandall, associate professor, Computer Science, School of Engineering
• Elaine Fink, department administrator, Teacher Education, College of Education
• Diane Gwinn, administrative officer, College of Education
• Shelly Green, associate superintendent, Albuquerque Public Schools
• Richard Holder, professor, Department of Chemistry, College of Arts & Sciences
• Jackie Kerby Moore, executive director, Sandia Science and Technology Park
• Mari Koerner, dean, Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College, Arizona State University
• David Scott, associate dean, Research and Information Management, College of Education
• Cheryl Torrez, chair, Teacher Education, College of Education
• Kristin Umland, associate professor, Mathematics and Statistics, College of Arts & Sciences
• Doug Wine, graduate student and principal, East Mountain Charter School

Questions related to the UNM College of Education dean search should be directed to Jennifer Love, dean search coordinator and program planning officer, Office of the Provost.