University of New Mexico Provost Chaouki Abdallah has announced the launch of the search for a new Vice President for Research. Julie Coonrod, dean, Graduate Studies, has been appointed chair of the search committee.

The selected candidate will take over leadership of the main campus research mission from Interim Vice President for Research Michael Dougher, who will retire next June. 

This position offers the opportunity for a visionary professional to lead the scientific and creative endeavors of a diverse and highly motivated faculty. The VPR also plays a vital role in capitalizing on the intellectual wealth and economic impact of the UNM Main/Branch campus research enterprise, using it as a driver for the overall enhancement of the institution and the state.

Reporting to the provost and executive vice president for Academic Affairs, the VPR is the main facilitator/advocate of creativity and innovation in the university's research mission. In addition, this position is responsible for assuring the effective administration of research at all stages, ensuring its integrity and excellence. 

The VPR manages an annual operating budget of approximately $21 million and the administration of the Office of the Vice President for Research, Office of Sponsored Projects, Research Administration and Compliance, and direct-report centers, institutes, and programs. In fiscal year 2014, Main Campus expenditures totaled $183 million (including financial aid expenditures).

The VPR is a member of the Executive Cabinet and guides institutional strategic planning for research and sponsored program development. The VPR is responsible for engaging campus constituencies in multidisciplinary research opportunities and the development of campus-wide initiatives to enhance UNM's visibility and role as a driver of economic development in the State of New Mexico. Finally, the VPR is responsible for the recruitment and development of multi-university and industry partnerships.

Applications are now being accepted through UNMJobs link.  For best consideration, applications should be submitted by Sunday, Dec. 21, 2014. Applications will be received until the position is filled. This is a full-time faculty executive position with a preferred start date of July 1, 2015.   

The search committee includes the following members of the UNM community:

  • Julie Coonrod, dean, Graduate Studies, and professor, Civil Engineering
  • Kymberly Pinder, dean, College of Fine Arts, and professor, Art and Art History
  • Barbara McCrady, director, Center on Alcohol, Substance Abuse, and Addictions, and Distinguished Professor, Psychology
  • Sanjay Krishna, director, Center for High Technology Materials, and professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering
  • Bárbara Reyes, director, Southwest Hispanic Research Institute, and associate professor, History
  • Christos Christodoulou, associate dean for Research, School of Engineering, and professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Tom Turner, associate dean for Research, College of Arts & Sciences, and professor, Biology
  • David Scott, associate dean for Research, College of Education, and associate professor, Health, Exercise, and Sports Sciences
  • Bill Shuttleworth, Professor of Neuroscience, School of Medicine
  • Barbara West, Executive Research Operations Officer, Office of the Vice President for Research

For more information on the position, refer to the search website. All nominations should be submitted online through the Vice President for Research nomination form.

Questions related to the search should be directed to the search coordinator, Matthew Gallegos at