The Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences at the University of New Mexico is hosting the 64th annual meeting of the Rocky Mountain Section of the Geological Society of America, May 9-11 at the Hotel Albuquerque. The annual meeting title is "Rio GeoFiesta!" About 500 participant geologists from across the country will debate topics about the geological evolution of the region in a series of theme sessions.

A public lecture, given by Dr. Robert Smith, distinguished research and emeritus professor of geophysics at the Department of Geology and Geophysics, University of Utah, will be held on Thursday, May 10 from 7:30-8:30 p.m. at the at the New Mexico Museum of Natural History and Science. Smith's lecture is titled, "The Yellowstone Supervolcano: Past, Present and Future."

Smith's primary research interests are in theory and methods in seismic studies of lithospheric structure, earthquake seismology, crustal deformation, tectonophysics of intraplate tectonic regimes and mechanics of crustal extension. Smith, who is considered the world's leading expert on the geology and geophysics of the Yellowstone-Teton area, has conducted seminal investigations of lithospheric structure, geophysical and geodetic investigations of the Basin-Range Province, Yellowstone hotspot and the Wasatch fault followed by probabilistic seismic hazard evaluation of the Intermountain West.

Additional meeting co-sponsors include the New Mexico Bureau of Geology and Mineral Resources, New Mexico Museum of Natural History and Science, and the New Mexico Geological Society.

For further information on events and meeting sessions, visit: Geosociety Events

The annual meeting is chaired by Professor Laura Crossey, meeting technical program chair is Karl Karlstrom, Gary Smith. fieldtrip coodinator and Gary Weissman, student volunteer coordinator, all from the UNM Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences.

Additional media information and selected meeting highlights are available at: Geosociety News.

Note: press representatives with accredited credentials will receive complementary meeting registration.

Media Contact: Steve Carr (505) 277-1821; e-mail: