The University of New Mexico Alumni Association is currently accepting nominee submissions for its 2010 UNM Alumni Association Awards. The association, which provides awards to individuals in acknowledgment of their exceptional achievements, offers four awards for UNM alumni, faculty and other individuals including the James F. Zimmerman, Bernard S. Rodney, Erna S. Fergusson and Faculty Teaching awards.

Below is a description of each award.

The James F. Zimmerman Award shall be given to an alumnus of the University of New Mexico who has made significant contributions, at a regional or national level, which has brought fame and honor to the University of New Mexico or to the State of New Mexico.

The Bernard S. Rodey Award shall be made to those persons who have devoted an unusual amount of time in a leadership capacity and whose efforts have contributed significantly to the field of education. Preference will be given to an alumnus of the University of New Mexico.

The Erna S. Fergusson Award (formerly the Award of Distinction) shall be given in recognition of: 1) Exceptional accomplishments and/or 2) For commitment or distinguished service to the University of New Mexico. Preference will be given to an alumnus of the University of New Mexico.

The purpose of the award is to recognize outstanding teaching and service to students. The recipient shall be a faculty member currently employed full-time in any school or college of the University of New Mexico.

Nominators and applicants have until Friday, Oct. 22 to submit their applications electronically to the Alumni Association: Online Nomination Form. For more information about the awards or printable application visit: Alumni Association Award Nomination Form or contact Roberta Ricci at (505) 277-9085 or

Established in 1897, the Alumni Association continues its commitment to continuity and perspective to the university through sharing ideas, needs and support as well as celebrating the university's heritage and achievements.