Kymberly Pinder, dean of the UNM College of Fine Arts, has been appointed chair of the UNM College of University Libraries and Learning Sciences (UL&LS) national dean search committee. UNM Provost Chaouki T. Abdallah appointed Pinder shortly following the mid-October announcement that Michael Kelly, associate dean for Scholarly Resources, Special Collections, the Center for Southwest Research and Special Collections, and associate professor of Librarianship in the College of University Libraries and Learning Sciences, would serve as interim dean. Kelly will serve as interim dean until a new dean is appointed.

Abdallah attended the first search committee meeting to share his expectations for the committee and for potential candidates. It is expected that the position will be posted for applications by late-October and the search will continue through the 2013-2014 academic year. Best consideration date for the UNM UL&LS deanship will fall between early-to-mid December, with the committee performing its work through March of 2014. The anticipated start date for the new UNM College of University Libraries and Learning Sciences dean is July 1, 2014.

In the spirit of former dean searches, individuals appointed to the search committee by the chair include college faculty, alumni, staff and students and members from the community. Appointed to the committee are: Kymberly Pinder, dean, UNM College of Fine Arts (chair); Cindy Abel Morris, manager, UNM Bunting Visual Resources Library; Paulita Aguilar, associate professor & research librarian, UNM UL&LS; Sharif Amlani, undergraduate student; Duane Arruti, director of Applications, Information Technologies; Nancy Cole-Lutz, library donor & former librarian; Nancy Dennis, associate dean, UL&LS; James Foty, graduate student, GPSA; Charlotte “Lani” Gunawardena, professor, UL&LS; Poppy Johnson Renvall, director of Libraries, CNM; Rebecca Lubas, associate professor, UL&LS; Ed Padilla, senior program manager, UL&LS; Kristine Purrington, director of development, Development Office; Suzanne Schadl, assistant professor, UL&LS; Katrin Schroter, associate professor, Department of Foreign Languages & Literatures; Anne Schultz, training & development consultant, UL&LS; Dean P. Smith, director, Albuquerque/Bernalillo County Libraries; Charlie Steen, chairperson, History Department.

Questions related to the search should be directed to Lauren Medrano, dean search coordinator and administrative assistant, Office of the Provost, via email to