Five recipients, April Davidson, Manuel Martinez, Yolanda Martinez, Luis Rocha and Patricia Ann Young were honored as the 2016 Gerald May Outstanding Staff Award winners at a ceremony in the Student Union Ballroom.

The five serve a variety of areas across campus: Davidson is the academic operations officer in the School of Engineering; Manuel Martinez is a custodian in the Physical Plant Department; Yolanda Martinez is a department administrator in the Department of History; Rocha is coordinator of Education Support in the Honors College; and Young is a police officer for the UNM Police Department.

When former UNM President Gerald W. May created this presidential award for staff he said, "Staff is critical to the success of our University, and the recipients of this award are notable because they all lead by their example."

In 1990, President May provided funds specifically for staff recognition and at the end of his tenure, a matching amount was made available from the Regent’s Endowment Fund. These funds are used by the Staff Council to recognize outstanding staff members who have made significant contributions to the University. The award recognizes individuals, but departments may nominate a staff member with one nomination form, signed by the group.

Award winners are recognized on a plaque hanging in Scholes Hall. For a list of past winners, visit Gerald W. May Awards.

The awards are sponsored by the Office of the President and the UNM Staff Council.