The annual Louie Awards, a recognition event honoring UNM students, staff and faculty for work on behalf of students, was held recently.

Eliseo "Cheo" Torres, vice president of Student Affairs, said, "The event has evolved over the last six years into one of the most successful recognition events on campus. The success of this program is due to the organization and preparation of the ceremony by our fellows, as well as Natalie Brigance and Dorene DiNaro ."

Winners: Laura Valdez, Romeo Alonzo, Deborah McFarlane and Kay Willerton, Outstanding Student Service Provider; Tammy James-Pino, Fellow of the Year; Derek Maestas and Stacy Daniels, Student Employees of the Year; Travis Lilly, Daniel Marzec and Christina Romero, Community Service Award; and Charles Jiron, Employee of the Year.

Award winners each received a gold Lobo Louie statuette and a cash award.