The Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman Award Advisory Committee is currently seeking nominations for the 2015 Beckman Award. The award is given to professors who inspired their former students to achieve greatness.

Gail McKnight Beckman created the Beckman Award to benefit teachers who have inspired their former students to make a difference in their communities. The award is given to current or former academic faculty members who have inspired their former students to "create an organization which has demonstrably conferred a benefit on the community at large."

Alternatively, academic faculty members must have inspired their former students to "establish on a lasting basis a concept, procedure, or movement of comparable benefit to the community at large." The advisory committee will consider the quality of the former student's or mentee's work when selecting the award winners.

Each recipient will receive a one-time cash award of $25,000. Preference will be given to educators who teach or who taught in the fields of psychology, medicine or law. 

The nomination deadline is Tuesday, June 30, 2015. An award ceremony will be held in the fall in Atlanta, Ga.

The Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman Award Trust was established in 2008 under the will of Gail McKnight Beckman in memory of her mother, Dr. Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman. Wells Fargo Bank, N. A. serves as the Trustee. Beckman was an educator, a renowned author, and a pioneer in the field of Psychology.

For more information or to nominate or apply for the award, visit: Elizabeth Beckman Award Trust.