The UNM Division for Equity and Inclusion seeks nominations for the 4th Annual Presidential Luminaria Awards. Recipients of the Presidential Luminaria Awards demonstrate an exemplary commitment to addressing diversity, equity, inclusion, or social justice at the University of New Mexico and/or in the New Mexico. Deadline for nominations is Friday, Oct. 18 at 5 p.m.

Derald Wing Sue is the author of Microagressions in Everyday Life: Race, Gender, and Sexual Orientation and is professor of psychology and education in the Department of Counseling and Clinical Psychology at Teachers College and the School of Social Work, Columbia University. Sue serves as keynote speaker of the 4th Annual Presidential Luminaria on Friday, Nov. 8 at 11 a.m. at the UNM Student Union Building Ballrooms A and B. Tickets are available Monday, Oct. 21 at

In New Mexico, luminarias are used to "light the way." The word luminaria means a body that gives light. It also is a person of prominence or brilliant achievement. The Luminaria Awards recognize individuals and organizations that have lit the path in areas of diversity, equity, inclusion or social justice. Their commitment can be evident in recruitment and retention of underrepresented groups; teaching, research and/or service; multicultural or cultural awareness programming; social justice organizing, community outreach or similar activities.

Nominations can be made for the following award categories:

Faculty Award: Up to two (2) awards
Staff Award: Up to two (2) awards
Student/Student Organization Awards: Up to two (2) awards
Community Organization Award: One (1) award

Nominations may be submitted by colleagues, peers, supervisors or advisers (in the case of student nominees) who recognize the significance of the nominee's work. Multiple nominators can support an individual's nomination. Nomination letters of support should clearly identify in detail how the nominee meets each of the following criteria:

How does this nominee demonstrate longstanding commitment to addressing diversity, equity, inclusion, or social justice at the University of New Mexico and/or in New Mexico? Provide specific examples that demonstrate this nominee's work in diversity, equity, inclusion or social justice.

How does this nominee's effort on behalf of diversity, equity, inclusion or social justice go above and beyond the routine expectations of his/her job or project at UNM and/or in New Mexico?

The 4th Annual Presidential Luminaria Awards and Diversity Celebration Fundraising Dinner is held during the spring semester, at the Albuquerque Convention Center. Award recipients with be notified in late March 2013.

Complete nominations must be submitted by March 1 and must include:

Click here for online nomination form. Nomination form may be submitted online or printed and hand-delivered or mailed.

Signed letter(s) of support may be uploaded, hand-delivered, or mailed (postmarked by 3/1/13) to:

Jozi De Leon, VP for Equity and Inclusion
Division for Equity and Inclusion: Luminaria Nomination
1 University of New Mexico

Scholes Hall, Room 250
MSC05 3400

Albuquerque, NM 87131-0001

2012 Recipients
Faculty Awards: Nancy Lopez, associate professor, Department of Sociology; and Tryphenia Peele-Eady, assistant professor, Department of Language, Literacy and Sociocultural Studies

Student Award: Ife Ambessah Hampton, sociology major; and Jordon Johnson, Ph.D. candidate in American studies

Student Organization Awards: Junior Scientist Outreach Program and the Association for the Advancement of Minorities in Medicine (AAMA)

Community Organization Award: Young Women United

2011 Recipients

Faculty Award: Margaret E. Montoya, professor of law

Staff Award: George Williams, Jr., Accessibility Resource Center

Student Award: Stephanie Tran, Medical student

Student Organization Award: The Project for New Mexico Graduates of Color (PNMGC)

Community Organization Award: Somos Un Pueblo Unido

2010 Recipients

Faculty Awards: Alfred Mathewson, professor of law; Gabriel Sanchez; political science

Staff Awards: Custodial Staff from Biology (Toby Lucero, Phil Aragon, Martin Jaramillo, & Magdalena Vela); Christopher Ramirez, project assistant, Office of Equity and Inclusion

Student Award: Michelle Richardson

Student Organization Award: Queer Straight Alliance & LGBTQ Center (Adam Quintero, Jeffrey Waldo, & David Griffith)

Community Organization Award: The Native Health Initiative

Media Contact: Carolyn Gonzales (505) 277-5920; email: