The Office of Graduate Studies released the names of the winners of graduate scholarships, fellowships and awards for 2010-11. These awards to both faculty and graduate students are designed to support and reward timely completion of theses and dissertations, excellence in mentoring by faculty and graduate students and professional development initiatives for future faculty.

In addition to the awards named below, OGS awarded this year several President's Assistantships, Provost's Assistantships, Assistantship and Recruitment Supplements, HED Fellowships, HED three percent Tuition Scholarships and 181 Research Project and Travel grants.

The Tom L. Popejoy Prize, established as a memorial to Tom L. Popejoy, UNM president from 1948 - 1968, recognizes and encourages the highest level of academic excellence. The award rotates on a three-year basis to clusters of disciplines, which this year included the arts and humanities.

This year's jury of three UNM faculty members selected this year's winner: Mark Ralkowski, Ph.D. in philosophy, 2008, for his dissertation "Heidegger's Platonism." Ralkowski receives a $1,000 stipend and will be honored at UNM's Commencement Ceremony.

Other nominees for this distinguished dissertation award were:
Melina Vizcaino-Alemán, American Studies
Anne-Sabine Nicolas, French
Sarah R. Payne, History
Birgit Schmidt-Rosemann, English
Damian Chase Wilson, Spanish & Portuguese

The Graduate Dean's Dissertation Fellowship provides a stipend of $8,000 for one year of financial assistance to a Ph.D. student nearing completion of his/her degree. Candidates are nominated by their graduate units based on the quality of their dissertation project and the likelihood of completing their work in a timely fashion. This year's jury of four UNM faculty members from different disciplines selected two winners:

Lara Nolder, Ph.D. candidate in Anthropology, for her project "Skeletal Evidence of Labor and Social Hierarchy of Colonial Period Maya: A Case Study from Tipu, Belize" and
Zhen Yang, Ph.D. candidate in Psychology, for her "Spatial orienting and selective attention in pediatric mild TBI patients: An fMRI study."

Also nominated for the Dean's Dissertation Prize were the following students; each nominee receives a $1,000 stipend.
Joseph Garcia, Ph.D. candidate in Latin American Studies
Ryan Goodman, Ph.D. candidate in Sociology
Philip Hultquist, Ph.D. candidate in Political Science
Jeanette Leavitt, Ph.D. candidate in Civil Engineering
Christine Kozikowski, Ph.D. candidate in English
Trevor Krabbenhoft, Ph.D. candidate in Biology
Jose Hugo Garcia Macias, Ph.D. candidate in Linguistics
Naresh Nepal, Ph.D. candidate in Economics
Vanessa Woodside, Ph.D. candidate in Spanish & Portuguese

Faculty Mentoring Award of $1,500 recognizes a faculty member who has demonstrated excellence in mentoring that benefits graduate students in his or her department and/or to the graduate community as a whole. This year's award goes to Economics Professor Janie Chermak.

Graduate Mentoring Award of $1,000 recognizes a graduate student who has demonstrated excellence in mentoring that benefits graduate students in his or her own or in other departments. This year's winners are:

Elena Aviles, Ph.D. candidate in Spanish & Portuguese
Erin Murrah-Mandril, Ph.D. candidate in English
Shana Klein, Ph.D. candidate in Art & Art History

Graduate Research Supplement awards up to $2,000 to ABD students pursuing advanced writing and research. Christine Kozikowski, Ph.D. candidate in English, was awarded this supplement to support research on her dissertation project, "Reading Privacy in Middle English Texts, 1350-1450: Private Space, Public Face."

The Future Faculty Grant awards up to $2,000 to support summer coursework, research, or professional development opportunities not available at UNM and that is directly related to preparing the graduate student for a career in higher education. This year's recipients are:

Steven Samford, Ph.D. candidate in Political Science
Elena Aviles, Ph.D. candidate in Spanish and Portuguese

American Association of University Women, Santa Fe Scholarship is awarded to a Santa Fe county resident who demonstrates academic excellence and promise, and whose work aligns with the goals of responsible public participation and equity that define the AAUW. This year's winner and first runner up receive a stipend of $2,000 and $1,500 respectively:

Christie Green, Landscape Architecture
First Alternate: Kina Murphy, Biology

Media contact: Carolyn Gonzales, 277-5920; e-mail: