The University of New Mexico Athletic Department hosted its annual Lobo Scholar-Athlete Banquet at the UNM Student Union Building on Monday night, with women's soccer Alexa Cabrales and men's soccer's Lucas Seligman receiving UNM Bookstores/Dining and Food Services Post Graduate Scholarships to highlight the event. The awards were only some of the many handed out at the department's largest academic banquet.

One of the top honors awarded during the night was the Director's Chair Awards. Presented to student-athletes that graduate with a 4.0 Grade Point Average, nine were awarded director's chairs with the Lobo logo and their names inscribed on the chairs. They included: Cherise Beynon (women's basketball), Madison Burns (swimming & diving), Alexa Cabrales (women's soccer), Deidra Dorough (swimming & diving), Daniel Lam (track & field), Katherine Whiting (track & field) and Alice Wright (cross country/track & field).

Lobo Scholar-Athlete Banquet
Lobo Scholar-Athlete Banquet at the UNM Student Union Building.

In addition, the 2018 UNM All-Academic Team, made up of the top academic performer on each team, was announced.  The team members included Jared Mang (baseball), Vance Jackson (men's basketball), Cherise Beynon (women's basketball), Emily Nenninger (beach volleyball), Daniel Lam (men's track & field), Sarah Laverty (women's track & field), Aaron Overacker (football), Ross Sinclair (men's golf), Alexandra Moisand (women's golf), Kyle Beling (men's skiing), Katharine Irwin (women's skiing), Simon Spangenberg (men's soccer), Gwen Maly (women's soccer), Kasey Halleen (softball), Madison Burns (swimming and diving), Michael Tran (men's tennis), Diana Wong (women's tennis), Lauren Twitty (volleyball) and Arianna Salas (spirit). 

For team awards, the most improved award went to beach volleyball, while the Athletic Director's Cup for the top academic program went to went to women's skiing for the third straight year. Baseball junior Larry Leitha was named the winners of the PACKS Program Award, and Jared Mang, Ednah Kurgat and Cherise Beynon were named the Lobo Club Student-Athletes of the Year.

Additionally, women's soccer's Alexa Cabrales was named the winner of the Lou McKinnon Wellborn/Lobo Women's Society Fifth Year Scholarship and women's basketball's Alex Lapeyrolerie was named the winner of the Lobo Scholars Program Innovation Award.

Overall, 283 student-athletes were named and honored as Lobo Scholar-Athletes for having a 3.2 cumulative GPA. A non-academic award was presented as well, as the Loren Dils Courage Award went to women's tennis' Diana Wong.