Dr. Jozi De Leon, vice president for the UNM Division for Equity and Inclusion announces the recipients of the Third Annual Presidential Luminaria Awards. Recipients will be honored at the Third Annual Presidential Luminaria Awards and Diversity Celebration Fundraising Dinner Wednesday, March 28, at the Albuquerque Convention Center Ballroom C. Author, educator and activist Angela Davis serves as keynote speaker of the fundraising dinner. Tickets are available at http://diverse.unm.edu for $60 per person or $600 per table.

The Luminaria Awards recognize individuals and organizations that have lit the path in areas of diversity, equity, inclusion or social justice. Their commitment can be evident in recruitment and retention of underrepresented groups; teaching, research and/or service; multicultural or cultural awareness programming; social justice organizing, community outreach or other similar activities.

Recipients of the Presidential Luminaria Awards exemplify a commitment to addressing diversity, equity, inclusion or social justice at the University of New Mexico or in New Mexico; emerging or long-term commitment to diversity, equity, inclusion or social justice effort that goes above and beyond the routine expectations of the job or project; provide evidence to support the contribution the individual(s) or unit has made in advancing diversity, equity, inclusion or social justice.

"We were very pleased to have a number of nominations reflecting the important work of faculty, staff, students and community members advancing diversity, equity, inclusion and social justice," said Dr. Jozi De Leon, VP for Equity and Inclusion. "We feel that all our nominees are winners."

The following recipients will be honored in these categories:

Faculty Awards
Nancy Lopez, associate professor, Department of Sociology; and Tryphenia Peele-Eady, assistant professor, Department of Language, Literacy and Sociocultural Studies

Student Award
Jordon Johnson, Ph.D. candidate in American Studies

Student Organization Awards
Junior Scientist Outreach Program and the Association for the Advancement of Minorities in Medicine (AAMA)

Community Organization Award
Young Women United

"Those that were selected this year exemplify work that is making a difference and strengthening our community," De Leon said.

Luminaria nominations were submitted by colleagues, peers, supervisors or advisers (in the case of student nominees) who recognized the significance of the nominee's work. An independent panel comprised of community members and UNM staff, students and faculty selected recipients.

Media Contact: Carolyn Gonzales (505) 277-5920; email: cgonzal@unm.edu