The UNM Alumni Association has announced the winners of its prestigious James F. Zimmerman, Bernard S. Rodey, Erna S. Fergusson and Faculty Awards. The winners will be honored at the Alumni Association's "Celebrate Our Own" awards dinner on Thursday, Feb. 16 at 6 p.m. at the Hotel Albuquerque. All are invited to attend. Please RSVP to the Alumni Relations Office (505-277-5808) by Friday, Feb. 10. The cost is $40 per person.

"The winners of the 2012 awards are outstanding in every way," says Karen Abraham, associate vice president, UNM Alumni Relations Office. "These special awards celebrate those people who have made significant contributions to honor the university and the state; whose leadership efforts have made a difference to the field of education; who have proven distinguished service to the university; and who have shown outstanding teaching service."

2012 Alumni Association Award Winners


James F. Zimmerman Award
David Allen Hovda, director, UCLA Brain Injury Research Center ('79 BS, '83 MS, '85 Ph.D.)

Hovda's research in understanding the cellular pathophysiology of brain injury helped UCLA gain recognition as a "Center of Excellence" by the National Institute of Health. Dr Hovda—who is the chair for the Brain Injury and Neurovascular Pathologies study section for the National Institute for Neurological Disease and Stroke, and president of the International Neurotrauma Society—has received many awards for his research, including the Benjamin Franklin Haught Memorial Award.




Bernard S. Rodey Award
Michael J. Glennon, past president, Central New Mexico Community College ('71 BBA, '74 MBA)

With more than 30 years of experience in higher education, Glennon has made significant contributions to Albuquerque's learning community. He was president of Central New Mexico Community College, the state's largest and most comprehensive community college, and also leant his expertise in education and finance to the University of New Mexico, the Commission of Higher Education, and the New Mexico Association of Community Colleges. In 2001, he was given the Zia Award from the University of New Mexico Alumni Association in recognition of his community service.






Erna S. Fergusson Award
Marty Wilson, past executive director, Golden Apple Foundation of New Mexico ('71 BAED, '78 MA, '93 EDSP)

When it comes to education, Wilson is the pick of the bunch: she led the Golden Apple Foundation of New Mexico, where she developed a teacher awards program, summer institute and academy. Prior to that, she taught at Albuquerque Public Schools, where she was chosen as "Outstanding Teacher" twice, and she later developed and revised the K-12 APS curriculum when she became the coordinator of Curriculum Outreach for APS. She has been a continuous supporter of UNM and is past president of the UNM Alumni Association.






Alumni Association Faculty Teaching Award
Kathleen Washburn, assistant professor, English, University of New Mexico

Washburn completed her Ph.D. in English at UCLA, and came to UNM to teach students about Native American literatures of the 19th and 20th centuries. With several publications such as "Writing the Indigenous West" for A Companion to the Literature and Culture of the American West under her belt, Dr. Washburn is always on the lookout for ways she can support and elevate her students; she received the UCLA Chancellor's Service Award in 2008 for working to recruit nontraditional students to the university.

For additional information, visit UNM Alumni or contact Roberta Ricci at 505-277-9085 or email,

Media Contact: Lexi Petronis (505) 277-4915; email: