Each year, the UNM Alumni Association presents its Winter Awards, a group of awards designed to honor alumni in a variety of categories.  The prestigious awards include: James Zimmerman, Bernard Rodey, Erna Fergusson, and the Faculty Teaching Awards. Nominations are now open for these awards.

To nominate an individual online, visit: UNM Alumni nomination form. The deadline to submit a nomination is Friday, Nov. 7, 2014. 

In order to be considered, nominees should meet the following criteria:

James Zimmerman Award “…shall be given to an alumnus of the University of New Mexico who has made a significant contribution which has brought fame and honor to the University of New Mexico or to the State of New Mexico.”

Bernard Rodey Award “…shall be made to those persons who have devoted an unusual amount of time in a leadership capacity and whose efforts have contributed significantly to the field of education. The recipient need not be an alumnus of UNM.”

Erna Fergusson Award “…shall be given in recognition of exceptional accomplishments or for commitment or distinguished service to the University of New Mexico. The recipient need not be an alumnus of the University.”

Faculty Teaching Award “…recognizes outstanding teaching and service to students.”

The award winners will be honored on Feb. 6, 2015 at the Alumni Association’s Award Dinner. The location will be announced at a later date.

For additional information, contact Jane Algermissen at (505) 277-9085 or email, jalgermissen@unm.edu.