Russell Goodman, Regents Professor Emeritus at the University of New Mexico Department of Philosophy, has been selected for a Fulbright Specialists project in Slovakia at Comenius University during September and October 2012, according to the United States Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board.

Goodman will lecture on a range of American philosophical writers, including Benjamin Franklin and Thomas Jefferson, Ralph Waldo Emerson and William James, and the contemporary Harvard philosopher Stanley Cavell.

Goodman is one of more than 400 U.S. faculty and professionals who will travel abroad this year through the Fulbright Specialists Program. The Fulbright Specialists Program, created in 2000 to complement the traditional Fulbright Scholar Program, provides short-term academic opportunities (two to six weeks) to prominent U.S. faculty and professionals to support curricular and faculty development and institutional planning at post secondary, academic institutions around the world.

The Fulbright Program, America's flagship international educational exchange activity, is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Over its 60 years of existence, thousands of U.S. faculty and professionals have taught, studied or conducted research abroad, and thousands of their counterparts from other countries have engaged in similar activities in the United States. Over 285,000 emerging leaders in their professional fields have received Fulbright awards, including individuals who later became heads of government, Nobel Prize winners, and leaders in education, business, journalism, the arts and other fields.

Recipients of Fulbright Scholar awards are selected on the basis of academic or professional achievement. Among thousands of prominent Fulbright Scholar alumni are Milton Friedman, Nobel Prize-winning economist; Alan Leshner, CEO of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS); Rita Dove, Pulitzer Prize-winning poet; and Craig Barrett, chairman of the Board of Intel Corporation. Distinguished Fulbright Specialist participants include Mahmoud Ayoub, professor of Religion at Temple University, Heidi Hartmann, president and CEO, Institute for Women's Policy Research, Percy R. Luney, Jr. dean and professor, College of Law, Florida A&M; University and Emily Vargas-Barone, founder and executive director of the RISE Institute.

For further information visit: Fulbright Specialists Program or email