Sanjay Krishna

Sanjay Krishna, UNM professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and Associate director of the Center for High Technology Materials has been appointed a fellow of the International Society for Optics and Photonics (SPIE).  Fellows are members of distinction who have made significant scientific and technical contributions in the multidisciplinary fields of optics, photonics and imaging.  According to the society, they are honored for their technical achievement, for their service to the general optics community and to SPIE in particular.

Krishna was honored for achievement in quantum dot-in-a-well and strained layer superlattice infrared photodetectors.  He is a leader in the development of infrared detectors based on quantum dot systems created through epitaxial growth. Early in his career he designed indium gallium aluminum arsenide (InGaAlAs) stressor dots, which produced the lowest photoluminescence linewidth in InGaAs dots of 19meV at the time, and he also reported the first intersubband emission from self-assembled quantum dots at 13 μm.

Perhaps his greatest achievement was using the quantum dots in a well (DWELL) design to develop intersubband infrared detectors. The DWELL design combined the advantages of quantum well infrared photodetectors such as a "dial in recipe" for a desired operating wavelength with the unique properties of quantum dot infrared photodetectors such as low dark current and normal incidence operation. Krishna's research has led to work around the world on DWELL design for intersubband detectors, including NASA-JPL's demonstration of a 640x512 and a 1Kx1K imager using the DWELL design.

In addition to his work in novel device development, Krishna has also developed systems for imaging, spectral imaging, and polarimetry that are based on his technologies. He has led "Epi to Camera" research that includes the design, epitaxial growth, fabrication, and radiometric characterization of single pixel detectors and 320x256 focal plane arrays. Krishna has won a number of honors for both his research and teaching, such as the Gold Medal from the Indian Institute of Technology, Madras, the ECE Outstanding Researcher Award, the North American Molecular Beam Epitaxy Young Investigator Award, the Defense Intelligence Agency Chief Scientist Award for Excellence, the SPIE Early Career Achievement Award, and the University of New Mexico Teacher of the Year Award.

Krishna has contributed to many conferences including serving as co-chair of the North American Molecular Beam Epitaxy Conference, chair of the program committee on Optoelectronic Materials and Processing for the IEEE Photonics Society, and he has served as program committee member for many conferences on nanophotonics and molecular beam epitaxy.

In addition, he has served as associate editor of "IEEE Transactions in Nanotechnology" and "IEEE Photonics Technology Letters." Krishna has participated in dozens of SPIE conferences as a plenary speaker, invited speaker and program committee member for conferences such as Nanophotonics for Communication. He is also a member of the SPIE Awards Committee, chair of the SPIE Early Career Award Committee, and he is the faculty advisor to the University of New Mexico SPIE Student Chapter.