Every year the UNM Staff Council honors outstanding supervisors across campus for their impact, leadership and dedication.

Nominations are open for the Outstanding Supervisor Award, which recognizes supervisors who create work environments that facilitate work-life balance, professional development and effective leadership in support of the values and mission of the University.

This year, several recipients will be honored with a plaque and a $1000 cash award.

History of the Outstanding Supervisor Award

On April 21, 2015, Staff Council President, Dr. Renee Delgado-Riley, along with UNM President Bob Frank, Provost Chaouki Abdallah, and Chancellor Paul Roth, signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) to create and fund a new Outstanding Supervisor Award between the UNM Staff Council and the Office of the President, Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs, Chancellor for Health Sciences and Dean of the School of Medicine.

On Oct. 1, 2019, Staff Council President, Ryan Gregg, renewed the MOU between The University of New Mexico Staff Council the Office of the President (Garnett Stokes), the Office of the Provost and EVP for Academic Affairs (James Holloway), and the Office of the Chancellor for Health Sciences (Paul Roth), and gained further support for this award from the Office of the Senior VP for Finance and Administration (Teresa Constantinidis). These offices financially support this award by each contributing $1,000 to the Staff Council Outstanding Supervisor account on an annual basis.  

Each year, between two and three recipients will be honored with a plaque and a $1000 cash award.